Field of research in my dissertation

In today's world combustion processes are still the main energy source. Forced by ecological and economical needs the simulation and optimization of these processes plays a more and more growing role in combustion research.

The challenge of model reduction is to overcome the discrepancy between the necessary numerical simulation based on detailed multi-scale mechanisms and the its attended high computational effort. The goal of all model reduction approaches is a low-dimensional but still sufficient approximation of the full reaction mechanism. Many model reduction methods, that are studying the long-term behavior of a system, assume fast time scales to be fully relaxed after a short transition time. The trajectories relax onto so called slow invariant manifolds of low dimension.

In 2004 Lebiedz presented a new variational approach based on maximally relaxed trajectories [1]. Its idea is to find an approximation of a point on the manifold as the solution of an optimization problem.

We are working on further development and examination of this approach for model reduction [2]. Main goal of this work is a complete implementation of a code for model reduction, that can also be used in CFD simulations. So this work combines methods of numerics and optimization with ideas of thermodynamics for the final computation of simplified models of chemical kinetics.

[1] D. Lebiedz. “Computing minimal entropy production trajectories: An approach to model reduction in chemical kinetics”. J. Chem. Phys. 120(15):6890, 2004.

[2] see also in publications.
  • mani1
  • mani2

Forschungsthema meiner Dissertation

In unserer heutigen Welt bilden Verbrennungsprozesse immer noch die Hauptenergiequelle. Durch ökologische und ökonomische Umstände angetrieben spielt die Simulation und Optimierung dieser Prozesse eine immer größere Rolle in der Verbrennungsforschung.

Die Modellreduktion soll die Diskrepanz zwischen der nötigen numerischen Simulation detaillierter Prozesse basierend auf Multi-Skalen-Mechanismen und dem damit verbundenen hohen Rechenkapazitäts-Bedarf überwinden. Ziel aller Reduktionsansätze ist eine niederdimensionale Approximation des vollen Reaktionsmechanismus, welche das System aber noch hinreichend gut beschreibt. So nehmen viele Verfahren, die das Langzeitverhalten eines Systems untersuchen, an, dass schnelle Zeitskalen nach einer kurzen Übergangsphase vollständig relaxiert sind. Die Trajektorien relaxieren auf sogenannte langsame invariante Mannigfaltigkeiten niederer Dimension.

Im Jahr 2004 präsentierte Lebiedz einen neuen variationellen Ansatz, der auf maximal relaxierten Trajektorien basiert [1]. Die Idee ist, einen Punkt auf der Mannigfaltigkeit durch die Lösung eines Optimierungsproblems zu approximieren.

Wir beschäftigen uns mit der Weiterentwicklung und Überprüfung dieses Ansatzes zur Modellreduktion [2]. Die Gesamtimplementierung eines Codes zur Modellreduktion, der auch in CFD-Rechnungen genutzt werden kann, ist Hauptziel dieser Arbeit. Sie vereint daher Methoden der Numerik und Optimierung mit Ideen der Thermodynamik schließlich zur Berechnung vereinfachter Modelle in der chemischen Kinetik.

[1] D. Lebiedz. „Computing minimal entropy production trajectories: An approach to model reduction in chemical kinetics“. J. Chem. Phys. 120(15):6890, 2004.

[2] siehe auch unter Publikationen.
  • mani1
  • mani2